Board Members

Founder Patron, First Chairman and Founding Members

The late YAB Tun Datuk Haji Sardon bin Haji Jubir was the first and Founder Patron who had played a significant role in guiding the Foundation. Since the date of incorporation, the Founder Patron had attended practically all the Foundation Board of Governors meetings and had remained very active in promoting and continuing with the work of the Foundation until 1981 when his term as the Yang Di-Pertua Negeri expired and he then left Penang for Kuala Lumpur. He passed away in 1985.

Among the first members of the Board of Governors were the late Datuk Yeap Hock Hoe who became the first Chairman of the Foundation, while the late (Tan Sri) Datuk Loh Boon Siew, Tun Dato’ Seri (Dr.) Haji Hamdan bin Sheik Tahir, and the late Datuk Koh Pen Ting were all the first Vice-Chairman.

Second Chairman/Patron and Third Chairman Of The Foundation Through the years till now, the Foundation has three Chairman. Tun Dato’ Seri (Dr) Haji Hamdan bin Sheik Tahir became the 2nd Chairman of the Foundation when the first Chairman Datuk Yeap Hock Hoe passed away on 14 May 1980. In July 1989 when Tun Dato’ Seri Utam Dato’ (Dr.) Haji Hamdan bin Sheik Tahir became the Yang Di-Pertua Negeri of Penang, Dato’ Haji Mohamed bin Yeop Abdul Raof was unanimously appointed the 3rd Chairman of the Foundation. Yang Bhg Dato’ Haji Mohamed Yeop has continued to serve as Chairman of the Foundation until 2005.


The Office Bearers of the Foundation

Chairman : Dato’ Mohd Rizal Al-Amin bin Tun Sardon

Vice-Chairman : Dato’ Seri Tan Gin Soon

Vice-Chairman : Dato’ Mary Ritchie

Vice-Chairman : Tuan Haji Mohd Lokman bin Tun Sardon

Hon. Secretary : Mr Koay Say Loke Andrew

Hon. Treasurer : Mr Khoo Kay Jee

Chairman of Study Loan Committee : Encik Tahiruddin bin Tun Hj Hamdan

Chairman of Study Grants Committee : Dato’ Seri Tan Gin Soon

Chairman of Charitable Organisation Committee : Dato’ Mary Ritchie

Chairman of Website Committee : Encik Tahiruddin bin Tun Hj Hamdan

Chairman of Investment Committee : Dato’ Kulasegaran a/l Sabaratnam

Members of Board : Dato’ Tan Chew Piau

Members of Board : Dato’ Jimmy Mohd Sukarno bin Tun Sardon

Members of Board : Dato’ Haron bin Siraj

Members of Board : Dato’ Subbiah a/l Thevarayan Chettiar

Members of Board : Tan Sri Laksamanan S/O Krishnan

Members of Board : Dato’ Loh Kian Chong

Comments are closed.